YouTube sucks….for study skills

Whats good boys and girls.

As any of you who have been reading my blog for a while will know, I am going to univeristy. I will be embarking on a BA in creative writing to help improve my craft as a writer. As I often do when I want to do something new, I recently turned to YouTube for information. I don’t know about you, but for me, university is a big deal. I WANT to do well and fully apply myself, yes I am there for the experience like everyone else, but if I come away with a 2/1…I will hate myself.

So, away I went, looking into study skills and what stationary do I need to hit the ground running…this was a poor choice of how to spend my time as it turned out. YouTube is great for something, hell it is great for procrstinating your way around doing anything. However, mainstream bloggers and things named ‘Hauls’ have destroyed the usefulness for some things. I started watching in excess of ten videos that had titles such as “Stationary must haves for uni” and “Essential stationary for university”. Correst me if I am wrong, but a fluffy jumper and a pair of bunny slippers are neither stationary or essential. I am not 18 and away from home for the first time, I have lived away from my parents for more than ten years…I know whether or not I need a jumper. I have been out of education for some time and as such thought I might need some pointers on what note books, folders and highlighters might be useful to me…YouTube did not want to help me.

This post is largely a rant, but it is a productive rant, as while I am writing this my mind is going to work in the background devising a clever plan for stationary shopping. Oh yes…there will be highlighters.

I have only about two weeks left before I start university and I have got to tell you I am excited. Let me know in the comments if you have any clever stationary or study tips, or if you are just excited to start university yourself.

Ja Ne.

Leave a Reply

